Corton Church of England Primary School

Select Language




 We have a mixed Nursery and Reception class. Our mixed EYFS class enables cross phase planning and is highly effective both in terms of personal development and attainment.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth until the end of the Reception year.

We believe that children learn best through first hand experiences and by using their senses.  We provide a range of resources and activities in Starfish Class that are interesting, enjoyable, challenging and fun! Children are encouraged to explore, experiment, question, investigate, discover, create, practise and consolidate their developing understanding, knowledge and skills.

Child-initiated learning is at the heart of our practice and we ensure that the children are a key part of our planning process.  We observe their explorative play and plan around their interests.


The EYFS curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning, three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas. The Prime Areas of Learning and Development ensure that the children learn and develop key life skills and these are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas of Learning and Development are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematical Development
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

The EYFS encourages staff and parents/carers to work closely together. There is an opportunity for you to provide input into your child’s development in discussions with Mrs Dalley and by uploading observations onto your child's online learning journey. At Corton Primary we are always ready to help and discuss anything concerning your child’s welfare and education.


early years.pdf

If you would like to find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS please click the link below.

What to Expect When in the EYFS